The tendency of human beings to copy one another is shown in the popularity of areas such as fashion and consumer goods. To what extent do you agree?

It is widely argued that the trend of imitating one another has widely appeared in the majority of sectors, especially fashion and consumer goods. While I admit that this perception is somewhat justifiable, I assert that people nowadays depend less on replicating due to some reasons.

On the other hand, it is understandable that most people decide to buy something based on peer and media influence. Instead of purchasing items based on genuine need, they follow temporary tendencies to show off their status and prestige; for example, massive individuals pay a great deal of money just to possess an iPhone. However, this materialistic culture is so attractive that it has a bad impact on the finances of low-income consumers. In some cases, they buy unnecessary things like luxury cars and high-end brands, pursuing a materialistic culture which is beyond their financial abilities. Therefore, I believe that although social and media pressure encourages some consumers to imitate others’ purchasing choices, this trend is largely limited to certain groups rather than society as a whole.

On the other hand, I am convinced that people nowadays no longer duplicate others’ products thanks to the advent of modern technology. Not only do technologies support humans with innovative ideas, but they also help avoid copying legal issues and damaging brand reputation. To be more specific, many AI tools and websites can create and adjust a variety of clothes, items, and products which are very unique and distinct just by basic prompts. As a result, should companies and artists apply this, it would enhance innovation and creativity without duplicating.

In conclusion, while social pressure and media exposure can encourage people to imitate others, especially in fashion and consumer goods, I believe that this phenomenon is becoming less common. Advances in technology have enabled both consumers and businesses to place greater emphasis on creativity rather than replication.