The government should invest in teaching science subjects rather than other subjects for a country's development and progress. To what extent do you agree or disagree? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

It is an issue of controversy over whether the authorities should allocate resources in science education or other subjects for national prosperity. While I suppose that the magnitude of teaching science subjects is transparent, I also subscribe to the opinion that the government should invest in other subjects for a well-rounded development.

On the one hand, it is undeniable that emphasizing on science education can pave the way for the development of a country. Firstly, science subjects are the bedrock of technological advancements and innovations. It is due to the fact that these subjects can provide fundamental disciplines about the operation of the world, which can lay the foundation for the formation of several scientific breakthroughs. As a result, it can lead to innovative products and progress, which is conducive to the improvement of people’s lives. Furthermore, science education can be a contributing factor to the training of thousands of students which can become the backbone of a nation down the road. Because teaching science subjects can facilitate the enhancement of critical thinking and problem-solving skills, students can capitalize on the competence accumulated from these subjects to make contributions to the prosperity of a country. For example, Korea and Japan have successfully transformed themselves from agricultural countries to global economic societies by giving priority on STEM education.

On the other hand, it is advisable to avoid overemphasis on science subjects at the expense of other subjects. First and foremost, learning other subjects about humanity or art can stimulate creativity and imagination. The reason has something to do with the fact that when studying these kinds of subjects, learners can get exposed to artistic theory and criticism, which is conducive to their acquisition of linguistic and professional skills like content creation or artistic appreciation. Another striking feature is that these subjects can play an instrumental role in assisting people to expand their capacity of empathy. Because when immersing in fictional characters’ lives, people can gain deeper insight into the magnitude of compassion between people of diverse backgrounds and cultures. Consequently, it can evoke their sympathetic response in real-life interactions.

In conclusion, although science education is undoubtedly vital for the prosperity of a country, I still hold a firm belief that the government should take the importance of other subjects into consideration.