The government should not waste money on arts as this money would be better spent on other projects like sanitation or infrastructure. Do you agree with the above statement?

Some people believe that the government should focus much on the development of basic facilities instead of funding much on artistic aspects of a society. I completely agree with this notion and this essay will elaborate few points on this rationale.

In recent days, there is seen a disparity in the income among people who are wealthy and those who are poor. Students from a financially stable background get more chances to avail the courses that provide them with a good career options whereas, people who are from underprivileged community do not get that opportunity just because the courses are overpriced. Therefore, I believe that the government should provide free education to those who cannot afford to go to such institutions for their higher studies. On the other hand, there are many people in developing countries, for instance in India, certain amount of population still tend to live in areas that lack basic facilities like, proper sanitation, adequate drinking water sources, shelter, and many more. It is the duty of the authorities of a particular state to identify such areas and develop the infrastructure.

Though, spending money on the development of architecture or art would benefit the country by making it look more beautiful and attracts tourists from different parts of the world, in my honest opinion, it would be better if the development of the infrastructure is prioritised first before moving on to the art. There are several government schemes to ensure the safety of the people, and many are targeted on providing housing facilities for poor people, for example, the Prime Minster of India has made sure that every citizen of India get a chance to live in a modern house and he has build around thousands of houses in recent years.

Overall, I state that giving preference to infrastructure development over the focus on the art and spending money mindfully would foster a healthy society without any social disparity.