The government should reduce the amount of money spent on local environmental problems and instead increase funding into urgent and more threating issues such as global warming. To what extend do you agree or disagree?

The conversation surrounding the redirection of funds, allotted to solving local environments, to managing the issue of global warming has become a common occurrence nowadays. I do not agree with this stance for a myriad of reasons, including prioritising citizens and which I would further enunciate.

Taking into consideration the sole purpose of reinstating a government, its sole purpose is to ensure that the quality of life of citizens is not deplorable state, therefore, local environmental issues such as inadeqaute drainage systems resulting in flooding or in Sub-saharan areas, an increased incidence rate of malaria, should be given utmost priority. Furthermore, tackling the issue of global warming is an all-hands-on-deck approach because mankind, not just governments, contributes immensely to the production of these greenhouse gases. Now, when these seemingly indigenous problems are solved, the challenge of global warming becomes easier to manage as residents are better informed and in a better position to make decisions that would further improve their environment.

Secondly, proffering solutions to global warming begins from the grass-root level, when the government enlightens the communities on the importance of ensuring that their surrounding environment is looked after. These folks better understand the importance of taking care og the environment. Problems like seperating their trash, opting for bicycles instaed of cars would become a thing of the past.

In conclusion, increasing the financial resources budgeted towards solving the issue of global warming while neglecting local environmental problems is not advisable.