The government's investment in arts, music and theatre is a waste of money. Governments should invest these funds in public services instead. To what extent do you agree with this statement ?

Imagine being in a world where arts, music and theaters is seen as a waste of investment by the government. Some may argue that the government should invest these funds in public services instead. In my point of view, I disagree with this aspect.

First of all, putting a halt in the investment of performing arts may cause some cultural issues. Cultures express themselves through music, art or performances to enhance creativity, communication and many others. For example, the H’Mong tribe in Vietnam, they use a musical instrument called the Pen-pipe. It is also called Khen, it is used to accompany singing or funerals. Arts, music and theater dates back to a very long time and is engraved to history. To illustrate, China has a rich history in arts, music and theater, not to mention its influence is well known across the world. In short, performing arts have their own special place in many cultures and traditions, the lack of funds for it could lead to problems.

Secondly, not only does art, music and theater have a crucial role in cultures and traditions, but it also helps with much more positive outcomes. These three subjects aid the people in mentality and understanding. To give you an idea, watching a play can help you have a better understanding of literature, human emotions, history and many more. Art and music supports a person mentally in times of stress, anxiety and depression. While theater provides a safe place for people of all ages to express themselves freely. Thus, it’s more or less the reason for the government to fund performing arts.

To wrap it up, I believe that the government should continue to invest into arts, music, theater and other performing arts. It is important for many cultures for their tradition to persist. As for the benefit to society, it is vital for a person to feel well, one way to increase one’s mood significantly is art, music or theater.