You should spend about 40 minutes on this task. Write about the following topic: Some people argue that all experimentation on animals is bad and should be outlawed. However, others believe that important scientific discoveries can be made from animal experiments. Can experimentation on animals be justified? Are there any alternatives?

Nowadays, many individuals from across the globe claim that experimenting on animals is inhumane and morally wrong, while other refute this by saying that it is necessary if we’re aiming for a safe life. Personally, I strongly believe that animal testing should be legal because of the reason that we need to check if something is out of harm’s way first before injecting them into humans.

On one hand, pandemics are a risk that are almost impossible to avoid. Inorder to find a cure that has minimal side effects, animal experimentation is the best way to ensure safety. For instance, the COVID-19 virus was a catastrophe that resulted in many deaths. If it weren’t for labratory testing on animals, we wouldn’t have been able to survive and extinction would’ve been a possibility. Moreover, many fail to realize that the medicine they take to heal themselves from illnesses are a result of experimenting and testing done on living organisms. Without this specific research, many diseases would be incurable.

On the other hand, these poor creatures have done nothing for life to already have been decided for them. From my own experience, I have debated others on this topic and they always suggested using criminals who have done serious felonies as an alternative to scientific discoveries. By making this a law, it not only saves innocent beings, but it also acts as a powerful deterrant against severe crimes, potentially saving more lives. In addition to this, we could always take measurements that prevent epidemics from striking, and quarantine those who have caught it before it reaches others.

In conclusion, while there could be different ways to prevent the need of searching for a remedy by taking precautions and using delinquents instead, I think that experimentation on animals is reasonable as the promise of using offenders could scare most people away, which means we would have to resort to animals anyway.