The growing number of overweight people is putting a strain on the health care system. Some people think that the best way to deal with this problem is to introduce more physical education lessons in school curriculum. To what extent do you agree?

Some people believe that the number of physical education lessons in the school curriculum should be increased to deal with the rising number of overweight people. The main reason for this belief is because curing the health issues involved with obesity is putting a strain on the health care system. While this may be a correct way of approach to the issue, there may be alternatives and limitations.

Students have physical education lessons at least once a week. When the number of these lessons is increased, they replace other classes the students usually take. Health is important and should be taken seriously. However, not all students are overweight. Some students also take sports lessons outside of school. The addition of extra classes may cause the students to feel tired after school. Although the idea of adding more physical education classes is creative, instead of changing the curriculum around to deal with obesity, we should encourage students to engage with sports or increase the amount of physical movement throughout the day.

People nowadays are influenced to consume more processed food filled with unnecessary calories and chemicals. The additives in the products cause them to satisfy our cravings, replacing natural foods. Consuming an excess amount of such foods causes obesity and is linked to mental health issues, such as depression and anxiety. Depression can also cause overeating issues in the long term. Therefore, as an alternative solution, students should be encouraged to eat cleaner and consume organic supplies. Eating healthy may not necessarily cause weight loss, but it can reduce overeating. And for students, eating more healthy calories could help them think clearer and improve overall school performance.

Overall, I disagree with the idea of increasing the number of physical education lessons in the school curriculum,curriculum; improvements may be done to better adjustaddress the issue with students. Obesity is a health disorder which should be prevented, especially in younger people. Encouraging healthy eating styles and physical movement with the youth could help fight against it.