The increase in the number of privately-owned cars is having a negative impact on both our towns and the environment. What can individuals and the government do to reduce this problem?

Today, more and more people own cars, and they are not only causing traffic jams but also harming the environment. To address it, individuals should change their cars to eco-friendly ones and improve the road infrastructure, which, I believe, is the responsibility of the government.

As a consequence of an increasing number of people who own a car, the mobility on roads is becoming heavier. Since almost every family in the cities has at least one car, if not more, traffic congestion is becoming worse. In the past, heavy traffic occurred only in rush hours, yet now it is seen throughout the whole day. Additionally, traffic jams also cause air pollution, releasing toxic gases. These harmful vapors, when mixed with air, damage the Ozone Layer that protects us, humans, from ultra-violet rays of the sun. Furthermore, citizens breathing from this air may face some health problems, such as allergic reactions and others.

To deal with the problems of traffic mobility, individuals should alter the way they travel by using public transport like buses, subways, and trams. This approach is beneficial for both sides; people will save their money and time while ensuring smooth traffic flow. On the other hand, the government’s responsibility is to expand the roads and enhance public transport. As for air pollution, the only way is by encouraging people to use electric vehicles instead of ordinary ones. When it comes to the government, they should control the air quality by planting new trees that absorb the pollutants and create oxygen.

In summary, a rise in car ownership is resulting in traffic jams and air pollution. Government bodies and citizens can cope with these problems by altering vehicles to electric ones and improving the road infrastructure.