The increase in the number of privately-owned cars is having a negative impact on both our towns and the environment. What can individuals and the government do to reduce this problem?

The focus of this discussion is regarding the negative impact privately-owned cars is having on both our towns and the environment. We will go over the causes, consequences and solutions we as a community and the government can take to solve this problem.

Firstly, privately-owned cars are increasing in number because the cost of public transport is rising dramatically. From what used to be a few cents for a taxi ride has now risen to ten or twenty dollars. Hence, many people are now purchasing their own vehicles to avoid paying these absurd prices of transport.

While this may benefit the people, its only short-lived and has severe consequences in the long run. With the increasing number of vehicles on the road, this produces more greenhouse gases which will end up in our atmosphere and may contribute to global warming. Aside from greenhouse gases, car exhausts may also produce gases like nitrogen oxides and carbon monoxide, both of which are silent killers to both our health and the environment.

While there is not much we can do to stop people from buying cars, the government can lend a hand by making it mandatory for all vehicles to have a catalytic converter installed, which converts these harmful gases into non-harmful ones. To add on, we as a community can host campaigns about reusing and recycling. While this doesn’t solve the matter at hand directly, it will help the environment by reducing the amount of greenhouse gases emitted from improperly disposed garbage.