The increase in the number of privately-owned cars is having a negative impact on both our towns and the environment. What can individuals and the government do to reduce this problem?

One can hardly deny that the private car ownership has emerged as one of the most serious environmental and social concerns, with ecosystem’s pollution and full parking lots become a concern not only for individuals but also for the government. With ramifications extending as far as the environment and cities, politicians and people should use a holistic approach with a special focus made on controlling quality of fuels and promoting alternative vehicles.

The first negative impact of the vast number of cars is deterioration of quality of environment. The exhaust gases, which are excreted by a petrol engine, contaminate the ecosystems through invading into water and soil. In turn, that contamination spreads towards food chains. As a result, vegetables and drinking water, which contain pollutants, have a negative impact on health and requiring the government to spend a significant budget on ensuring product quality.

The second drawback influence affects an urban space. Most of towns, which have been built before blooming of car ownership, do not cope with overwhelming places for cars in residential area and around public buildings. Eventually, pedestrian area is not accessible to pedestrians and a town center is crowded by office workers’ cars. In consequences of the vast number of private cars, a quality of life for town residents decreases because they cannot effectively use of an urban space.

One of the possible solutions that the government can undertake is establishing the quality control of petrol. The exhaust fuels policy is likely to reduce most of the ecosystem’s pullution and, in turn, diminish negative impact on environment. Another possible solution that individuals or activist can perform is a popularization of small vehicles like scooters or bicycles. Moreover, they can appeal to use a public transport that significantly reduce the number of private cars in the towns.

To conclude, as show above, there are several implications of the increase in the number of privately-owned cars, with the natural environment and the spaces’ towns being the most alarming aftermath. To address the issue to resolve the situation, it is important that politicians make the exhaust fumes policy and people alter their transport habits.