Computers have changed the way people study. What are the advantages and disadvantages of using computers as study aids?

In the modern times, using computers in study has become highly common and controversial. While it offers advantage such as it is convenient, it also has notable disadvantage such as less of physical experience.

From an overall perspective, there can be no doubt that computer provides valuable advantage to study. One of the main advantages is that it is convenient because it can be used wherever a person is. Students can join to the class regardless their geographic location, which is crucial for them. However, students who live in rural areas or villages are not able attend the seminar and classes that organized by the skilled teacher in the big cities. In addition, Computers offer a system by which learners can join in the classes from anywhere at any time, which saves travelling cost, saves money and saves times. For example, a student who live in small village can participate to the classes that’s operated by University of Dhaka. So, it can be said that computers are convenient in the education sector.

Though using computers has several advantages, it also has some drawbacks. Perhaps the main disadvantage is that it provides less of sensory experience. This is because learners participate to the classes through the online media as like zoom, which offers only visualization rather than physical experience. Some classes actually require practical knowledge to improving the knowledge on specific field. For instance, lab classes and surgery are not feasible to learn through the online or visualized system, they need hands on experience. As a result, computer is not able to provide sufficient outcome in education sector and students should not depend on the computers.

In conclusion, using computers has both positive and detrimental effects.

While it is convenient to the students, it is also unable to provide practical experience.