Computers have changed the way people study. What are the advantages and disadvantages of using computers as study aids?

Nowadays, most computers have become modernized and recreated for people’s usage for the purposes of studying. Devices contain significant benefits in their accessibility to interpret various information in different ways, however there may appear some negative aspects as well.

Firstly, the substantial advantage of modern technology utilization is that individuals may easily employ various sources to find unknown information instead of looking for a specific book. This may preserve more time for people to complete other work duties or help to get more free time for relaxation after hard-work. Hence, humans may spend more time for their own needs. Secondly, the marginal positive aspect of computers in workers’ lives is a wide access to videos with professor’s explanations, for example, on YouTube which may sometimes substitute colleges’ or institutes’ lectures, due to the fact that most students may absorb hard for understanding information at home, much better than when sitting in an auditorium full of other people. Therefore, there will be less distractions from classmates, and this type of strategy may promote a higher rate of getting high scores on the final exam.

On the contrary, computers and modern devices may have a pitfall effect on students and working people; for instance, their vision may become worse due to the blue light laptops are producing. Consequently, books will be a better decision, as they contain paper-made material which has less detrimental effect on an individual’s eyes. Another significant downside is that while using desktops as a studying material, learners may get easily distracted by their fellows’ messages or other notifications from social media. Accordingly, this may cause improper studying, problems with memorization, and unwished results on the exam.

In conclusion, besides the notable merits, computers may evoke short-sightedness and affect students’ studying time, and at the same time distract them from the learning process.