The increase in travel is affecting the environment negatively. What are the causes, and what measures could reduce this impact?

In this day and age, travel has become one essential way to entertain human lives; however, its increasing number in travel is bringing harmful effects to the natural environment causing fatal diseases and losing the balance of the ecosystem. To tackle this issue, measures from everyone in society should be taken seriously to prevent destruction of the environment.

On the one hand, numerous journeys to domestic and abroad destinations lead to worrying consequences to human health and natural damage. By travelling, passengers normally use non-renewable energy vehicles to transfer from place to place, which causes a great amount of black carbon emission to the environment. Particularly, an airplane as researched uses thousands of litres of oil to run, and emits to the environment large amounts of carbon dioxide. As a consequence, humans have to face polluted air and poor environmental quality and suffer from respiratory illnesses such as asthma, cancer, and damaging organs. Moreover, travel also harmfully contributes to nature by constructing attractions and public amenities for sightseeing and degrades the original ecosystem. To maximize the economic benefits of tourism, countries choose to exploit natural resources to serve their needs. This has made it lose some of its diverse bionetwork, and brought concerns for later generations to have qualified living conditions without genotype alterations.

To mitigate several impacts of tourism on the environment, both governments and publicity should join hands on changing lifestyles and preserving the general atmosphere. On the political side, activists and organizations have to launch more programmes to encourage people to use environmentally friendly transportation as well as upgrade the public transport system to electric ones in order to avoid using fossil fuels that emit harmful gases. For instance, in some countries like America, China and England promote their citizens by offering deals when buying electric cars and use them frequently. In addition, spreading information and warnings to citizens so that humans can raise awareness to notice their actions on the environment. Generally, developed nations in Europe create protecting environmental charities and give out paper bags with messages to remind people about harmful effects from over-travelling.

In conclusion, travelling is a way to experience new challenges and open knowledge to humans; nevertheless this can still have another side of the same coin that causes negative effects to the health and living atmosphere of all living things on Earth with fuel energized vehicles. So to preserve and prolong balanced lives, it needs the hands of all communities.