The increase in travel is affecting the environment negatively. What are the causes, and what measures could reduce this impact?

In this day and age, travel has become one essential way to enrich human lives; however, its increasing prevalence is bringing harmful effects to the natural environment, causing fatal diseases and disrupting the balance of the ecosystem. To tackle this issue, measures from everyone in society should be taken seriously to prevent the destruction of the environment.

On the one hand, numerous journeys to domestic and foreign destinations lead to worrying consequences for human health and environmental damage. By traveling, passengers normally use non-renewable energy vehicles to transfer from place to place, which causes a great amount of black carbon emission into the environment. Particularly, an airplane, as researched, uses thousands of liters of oil to run and emits large amounts of carbon dioxide into the environment. As a consequence, humans have to face polluted air and poor environmental quality and suffer from respiratory illnesses such as asthma, cancer, and organ damage. Moreover, travel also harmfully contributes to environmental degradation by constructing attractions and public amenities for sightseeing and degrading the original ecosystem. To maximize the economic benefits of tourism, countries choose to exploit natural resources to serve their needs. This has caused the loss of biodiversity and raised concerns that future generations may not have adequate living conditions without genotype alterations.

To mitigate the impacts of tourism on the environment, both governments and the public should join hands in changing lifestyles and preserving the general atmosphere. On the political side, activists and organizations have to launch more programs to encourage people to use environmentally friendly transportation, as well as upgrade the public transport system to electric systems, in order to avoid using fossil fuels that emit harmful gases. For instance, some countries, like America, China, and England, incentivize their citizens by offering deals when buying electric cars and using them frequently. In addition, spreading information and warnings to citizens will raise awareness of the impact of their actions on the environment. Generally, developed nations in Europe create environmental protection charities and distribute paper bags with messages to remind people about the harmful effects of over-traveling.

In conclusion, traveling is a way to experience new challenges and expand human knowledge; nevertheless, it can also have negative effects on the health and living environment of all living things on Earth due to fuel-energized vehicles. So, to preserve and prolong balanced lives, it requires the cooperation of all communities.