The increasing housing problem in big cities has social consequences. Some people say that only government can solve this problem. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In today’s society, housing problems have increased significantly, having negative impacts on society. Therefore, some people assume that only the government can deal with these issues. While this idea holds true in certain contexts, I firmly believe that residents can also help the government cope with housing problems.

On the one hand, one of the most obvious reasons for these problems is a rise in housing prices. The financially disadvantaged might lack accessibility to adequate accomodation, leading to homelessness. Consequently, some of them commit crimes in hopes of alleviating their burdensome responsibilities. Hence, if the government creates more jobs for the underprivileged, they will gain financial stability for basic needs and future plans. This also means that criminal acts could decrease significantly, since India, where people living in the slum often steal to earn money for their basic needs, is a notable example. Moreover, it is believed that the government is the only organization to robust social welfare policies. Meanwhile, these policies, such as providing free homes or grants for the poor, are considered one of the most crucial ways to cope with social consequences.

On the other hand, while the government can provide financial support for homeless, governmental funding is also limited. Besides social welfare policies, the government is compelled to invest in educational and economic progress, which are two of the key factors associated with a utopia. For this reason, it is not governmental support that can completely deal with housing problems, but rather a collaboration between the government and residents. Thanks to sponsorship from private businesses who want to promote their names, people could establish charitable and non-governmental organizations to raise funds, building philanthropic homes for the homeless. Furthermore, they can also launch more campaigns to raise public awareness about criminals caused by a lack of financial support, helping them integrate in society. Not only do such organizations help the government solve housing problems, but they also boost a sense of community and unity, contributing further to a harmonious society.

In summary, due to the limitation of governmental funding, authorities could not cope with housing problems on their own. Thus, residents can also offer a helping hand to the government to solve housing problems and social consequences.