The increasing housing problem in big cities has social consequences. Some people say that only government can solve this problem. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In the present scenario, the housing crisis in urban areas is becoming a pressing issue that is followed by devastating consequences. There is a belief that only the government is the key figure that can handle this problem, and I fully agree with this statement.

First of all,The government possesses unparalleled authority and regulating power to address the housing deficit in big cities.Unlike non-governmental organizations,the government can launch scheme that regulates efficient land use and equitable housing distribution through its regulating power. As whole territory of the country is in the control of merely the government, it can improve the situation by enlarging the cities. This will mitigate the housing shortage in the city by encouraging waves of immigration to the countrysides. Thus, considering the government’s governing authority to influence the country it is clear to affirm that inclusively government can tackle housing scarcity in big cities.

Secondly, the government has more financial resources than any other companies or organizations. Since the government collect taxes from all working sectors, they have more financial capacity to build reasonable number of apartments to wider population. For example, government can engage more number of construction workers by providing them quotas,subsidies and financing to equal the proportion of growing population with pace of condos built. Therefore ,great financial resources allows the government to address housing shortage issue properly.

Admittedly, it is not rare to see from the internet how some organizations or wealthy individuals build houses for homeless people. On the one hand, owing to that examples it may seem that by building houses such organizations can address housing shortage. But on the other hand their actions are not as global as the governments and tackling the housing shortage may be too costly for one organization.

To conclude, I strongly feel that authority, regulating power and financial state of the government, makes it the only figure to mitigate the housing deficit