The increasing popularity of virtual reality is leading people to spend more time in simulated environments. What are the potential benefits and drawbacks of this trend for society?

Virtual reality has become one of the greatest technological feats of mankind, in spite of this, virtual reality poses relevant concerns regarding the detachment from physical reality. I believe that the development of VR technology at a consumer level is unnecessary and development for this technology would be better placed strictly in STEM fields.

To begin with, VR at a consumer level has reached the highest point of development and futher development is completely unnecessary. The average individual does not need nor do they poses the ability to purchase state of the art VR headset, furthermore, these same individuals are in complete satisfaction with todays technologies, making future development obsolete.

Secondly, investment in the development of VR technologies is misplaced, rather than investing in this technology which has reached its peak at a consumer level, investments are better placed in more urgent problems in technology such as improving power efficiency, searching for cleaner fuel, and developing alternatives for inefficient processes.}

Thirdly, the VR industry is quiet secluded and isolated, it hasn’t become so big that it poses a real palpable threat to society, everyday people don’t have access to this sort of technology, it seems as only the small upprer echelon of people income-wise are the only people truly experiencing this sort of tech.

In conclusion, virtual reality has reached its peak as far as consumer level goes, it poses a deviation for focus on bigger problems, and, at the end of the day, it is not as relevant as we think it is.