The increasing reliance on algorithms in everyday decision-making, such as loan applications and hiring processes, offers both potential benefits and drawbacks. Do the advantages of using algorithms in these areas outweigh the disadvantages?

Algorithms are becoming more important in considering decisions. However, some people suggest that bias and lack of transparency are its downsides and should be evaluated thoroughly. There is a certain degree of truth regarding this opinion. This essay will explore the potential benefits and drawbacks of the increasing reliance on algorithms.

First, the usefulness of algorithms is undeniable. They make decision-making processes easier, more logical by accounting more factors than human can do. For example, manager can not give an accurate estimation of how importance of a candidate’s personality to their company, or how much more likely the company will be successful by employing the candidate. Addtionally, algorithms are stable and reliable. They are not affected by emotions and have been tested to various extent. They stricly follow the historical data and the math behind. With such benefits, it is easy to understand how algorithms are increasingly popular among managers.

However, there are certain drawbacks that can outweight the benefits in some circumstances. Often, the algorithms are designed specifically for one company, with only limited access to important positions. This can raise concern about bias and lack of transparency, with the possibilities of managers using the tool to manipulate the company policies, or to use it for their own advantages by only employing candidates favoring their position. The drawbacks can be detrimental for companies that have not had policies on managing the tool effectively and should be considered thoroughly when implemented.

Overall, the increasing reliance on algorithms is the result of the technology advancement, and it is proved to be useful. But only by considering on when and to what extent this tool can be used without damaging a company system, its potential drawbacks can be reduced. In my opinion, managers should continue using the tool with a consideration for a broader view, concerns about bias and for complying with company’s policies.