The increasing reliance on algorithms in everyday decision-making, such as loan applications and hiring processes, offers both potential benefits and drawbacks. Do the advantages of using algorithms in these areas outweigh the disadvantages?

In recent years, the dependence on algorithms in making decisions in different areas, like finance and healthcare, has increased significantly. Some argue that trusting technology in such important matters is essential to ensure an improvement in these sectors, while others believe it would be better to not let this fields of interest be influenced too much from algorithms. In my opinion, there are more pros than cons to letting automated systems assist us when we face complicated tasks.

Relying on data-driven models in the process of decision-making is useful for several reasons. For the workers themselves, they would benefit from the precision given by the massive amounts of data of which the dispose. Therefore they would have more experience and examples than if they were not helped. In addition, it would be easier for them to organize and have acess to those information, because of how simple they are found. For instance, algorithms are becoming more crucial for doctors in the diagnosis of diseases in patiance. So, it is useful to have a second opnion on certain situations.

Among the drawbacks of making way to automated systems in various sectors, some may say that a greater relying on this technologies could lead to the impoverishment of certain skills, which will make workers oversee some mistakes. Moreover, there is an important aspect that in many professions is essential, the human aspect. Indeed, the human aspect is vital to get the full picture of the situaton. For example, a patient might show micro behaviour alteration that only a doctor would notice.

In conclusion, algorithms are beacoming increasingly crucial in the decisons of certain professional areas. While it is true to say that there are major negative aspects to this, i believe that the positive aspects outweight the previous.