The increasing reliance on algorithms in everyday decision-making, such as loan applications and hiring processes, offers both potential benefits and drawbacks. Do the advantages of using algorithms in these areas outweigh the disadvantages?

With the spread of artificial intelligence, people are more likely to delegate everyday tasks to AI helpers instead of taking the responsibility of their own decisions. It may sound very convenient and labor-saving, but possible consequences are significantly more serious than people are used to think. This essay will outline both benefits and drawbacks of the popularity of algorithmic decision-making.

First of all, AI is created to make people’s lives easier. Actually, it indeed makes the information more accessible. For example, to find an answer to some challenging question individuals do not need to search for articles on that topic. Today it is enough to ask the AI chat-bot a question and it will generate a user-friendly response based on all information it has analyzed before. Therefore, this approach is a perfect solution for solving simple tasks like searching for information, writing emails, and editting photos. Consequently, it provides an infinite number of possibilities expecially for creative field. Copywriters, artists and musicians use algorithms to make decisions each and every day.

On the other hand, AI has been noticed for providing weird answers called hallucinations. Information in such responses is completely wrong and confusing. It can even be dangerous if relates to food or health. Moreover, fake data can be generated on purpose and used for malicious purposes. Unfortunately, the quality of information generated by AI has considerably increased, which makes it difficult to distinguish the truth. As the result, people may use wrong information for treating or for solving legal problems. Another sorrow consequence is that people are using their brains less than before. Overuse of AI technology leads to cases when a person is not willing or even cannot write or read without any help. Unability to concentrate on a task, use person’s own skills to solve it, and make decisions themselves leads to degradation.

In conclusion, AI helps us a lot with making decisions, makes our lives more comfortable, and saves us time for other activities. However, people should always remember about the potential danger of algorithms for making important decisions.