The increasing reliance on personalized AI assistants for daily tasks diminishes critical thinking skills. Do the benefits of convenience outweigh the drawbacks to individual cognitive development?

On the one hand, if everyone is choosing subjects that would be useful in the future, the number of professionals in these fields would grow significantly. In fields such as medicine and biology, more researchers can accelerate research progresses significantly. The outcomes could involve inventing a new drug that ultimately saves numerous lives. Moreover, this may also be beneficial to the global economic development. Since there would be more technologically innovative products on the market, people in some countries can no longer rely on property speculation only.

On the other hand, many individuals who agree with this proposal do not consider the consequences of the disappearance of the experts in specific fields. Art may be considered an useless subject because it cannot produce an immediately useable product. However, it is exceptionally important for maintaining the culture of a nation. For instance, many artists produce paints or statues that can represent the culture of a nation. If all these arts disappear, the culture of a country could face the risk of death. In addition, it can have a huge impact on countries whose economies rely on tourists, as their traditions may no longer present.

In conclusion, restricting subjects that university pupils can study could positively affect the global economy and accelerate the development of new technology by concentrating professionals in certain subjects. Nevertheless, this could bring the death to the culture of numerous nations, as certain subjects that are considered unimportant could be restricted from study. As such, I believe that the advantages cannot outweigh the drawbacks.