The increasing reliance on social media for news consumption has led to widespread misinformation. What are the underlying causes of this issue, and what solutions can be implemented to combat the spread of fake news?

Nowadays, the rate at which fake news is being spread on social media platforms has skyrocketed and it is fast becoming an issue. There are numerous reasons for this and certain measures can be put in place to cob it. This essay will discuss both.

On the one hand, there are quite a good number of factors responsible for why rumours peddled on the internet has risen. One major reason is the lack of stringent rules by the goverment. Because, the government has made it a law that every citizen has right to a freedom of speech and no repercussion attached to offenders who cause scandals online, these people have abused the privilege. Thus the reason for the rise in scandulous contents on the media. Another important reason is the fact that younger ones are no longer being taught morals and ethics in high school. In the past, these courses formed an integral of part of a childs education during their formative years, so as to enable them grow up to become responsible individuals so are polite in their conversations with people both virtually and physically. However, since the withdrawal of these subjects from the school system, virtual bullying and fake news have been on the rise,

On the other hand, even though this new developement has resulted to a negative trend, there are measures which can be put in places to curtail it. One of which is, making sure perpertrators are duly punished. The government has a role to play in this, by setting standard laws which will restrict people from talking indiscriminately online and making sure offenders serve their punishment. Secondly families and schools have to make it a duty to teach their wards basic polite manners and the dangers of being an online bully.

In conclusion, inspite of the progressive increase in the circulation of fake news due to lack of strict laws set by authorities and the inefficiency of the education system in imbibing good morals in children, there are still ways of improving the situation. One is by ensuring families and teachers help young people to learn good morals. Lastly, if the legislators make strict laws, I believe, there will be an improvement