The increasing reliance on social media for news consumption has led to widespread misinformation. What are the underlying causes of this issue, and what solutions can be implemented to combat the spread of fake news?

The improvement of social media has contributed to misinformation and lead to confusion. This essay will discuss the main problems and suggest posible solutions.

Nowadays, social media are become main source of people’s news information. Social media offer easiness and flexibility to find the news. People can find news only using their mobile phone and can choose what topics and opinion they wanted to hear and find. One of the main drawbacks is the resource of the news are not credible. Most of people’s find news from tiktok or instagram, the author in this case, the content creators are not reliable. The news that produce from social media are not comes from checking process, and reviewed by proffesional person. Previously when television and newspaper were the main source of the news. The output from of news comes from complex process involved involving collection, sellection and editing process.

At this situation, there are to many false positive news. There are two main solution, I believe this issue needs goverment intervention to limited number of potential fake news and improve overall citizen literacy to value the news. Goverment need to have clear guidline to check and validate news. Goverment need to collaborate with big social media application like tiktok and facebook to create standardize rules regarding news that publish in their platform. Also prevention action to reduce fake news, for example delated account that recorded produce a lot of fake news. Other than that the most important is to increase people’s literacy about the news. Socialization is needed to increase people awareness to select reliable media, to prevent country from misinformation.