The increasing use of AI in art creation is becoming more prevalent. Do the advantages of AI-generated art outweigh the disadvantages?

In today’s world, it is clear that people are using artificial intelligence (“AI”) in every areas, including arts, such as music and painting. Although some believe that this brings advantages, I strongly think that this is a negative trend for human artists and artistic expressions.

Those who advocate AI is beneficial for artists and art itself may argue that this would make the creation of painting and music easier and faster. In other words, AI tools can often create a piece of art, such as a portrait within seconds as if an expert draws it. If, however, a real artist tried to picture it, it would take months. For example, Da Vinci had created Mona Lisa in months, spending his days and hours. There is no doubt that AI tools could have spent maximum of two minutes to prepare Mona Lisa, if it had been existed in that time.

However, I believe that AI is harmful for artists and artistic expressions as it kills creativity. This is due to the lack of emotions, which are the core elements of arts. Even though AI creates the most aesthetic piece of art, it could not be good enough to appreciate it as people would never feel the emotional motivation behind it. For instance, the world famous song “Let it be” from the Beatles, could be never that much popular if there was no past feelings and memories of John Lennon while writing its lyrics. Considering the fact that AI will never have feelings, such as love and emphaty, it will never be as successful as the real art created by human artists.

In conclusion, AI has become a huge part of people’s life, reflecting itself in art, but is harmful for artists and expression of art due to the lack of emotions and creativity, even if some think that it is an easier and faster way of creating art, such as music and film.