The influence of advertisements is increasing rapidly. Do the positive effects of this development outweigh the negative effects?

It is widely believed that the impact of ads is increasing dramatically. This essay will demonstrate how advertisements make products seem attractive and persuade consumers to buy them, but will also show that this can lead to increasing competition between companies. I strongly agree that the positives of this development outweigh the negatives.

On the negative side, the distribution of advertising use among companies is unequal. In other words, trends are changing very quickly, and companies are ready to spend large amounts of money to attract consumers. High competition caused by unequal access to advertising is objectively harmful because it pushes smaller businesses out of the market, reducing consumer choice and leading to market monopolies.

For instance, Yale University’s scholars have analysed how many businesses failed due to increased competition. 45% of new businesses failed after the development of advertising.

On the positive side, the main advantage of advertising is that it attracts more people to purchase items. In other words, advertisements make products appear attractive to consumers, which helps sellers increase their sales. For example, Harvard University research has shown that brands with high-quality advertisements increase their sales by 70%. Thus, advertising creates desire in consumers.

In conclusion, while this trend has both upsides and downsides, in my opinion, the advantages outweigh the disadvantages.