The influence of advertisements is increasing rapidly. Do the positive effects of this development outweigh the negative effects?

The expansion of advertising in social media and mass media significantly influences the behavior of consumers nowadays. It is a way of making society more interested in a specific type of product and save time due to faster and more effective choices. It is essential to consider that advertising is a useful tool that makes life more convenient, whereas other people strongly believe it has a negative impact on the environment and this tendency should be either reduced or replaced. In my opinion, although it has some benefits, its drawbacks contribute to long-term problems, which far outweigh the pros.

The most significant upside of advertisements is an opportunity to buy certain items according to individuals’ needs and preferences. Owing to the fact that advertisements have infiltrated every corner of people’s lives so that it can be seen anywhere: from social media platforms to billboards, it broadens humans’ perception of what people buy and which option is better exactly for them. The availability of information helps people compare, make an informed decision and save time since they do not have to look for suitable items for a long time. As an example, while buying new electronic devices, individuals can see their price and features, which makes it easier and faster to choose.

On the other hand, the main problem advertising contributes to is negative consequences connected with the climate, such as the greenhouse effect, ozone layer depletion and global warming. An abundance of choice may result in impulsive purchases, which lead to overconsumption because people often tend to replace old items with new ones, even if there is no necessity. For instance, new models of iPhones are released every year, encouraging people to buy updated versions and throw away perfectly functional devices, which emit toxic substances. Therefore, the more people buy new items, the more they get rid of unused things which cause sea and air pollution and then turn into larger-scale problems like global warming that is nearly irreversible.

In conclusion, while some pros of this trend connected with flexibility in decision-making cannot be denied, disadvantages of increasing the influence of advertisement in daily life far outweigh positive developments. Hence, society should take a more responsible approach to advertising and consumption to minimize its long-term consequences.