The influence of human beings on the world's ecosystem is leading to the extinction of species and loss of biodiversity. What are the primary causes of loss of biodiversity? What solutions can you suggest?

The presence and evolution of humanity on Earth is having catastrophic effects on other species and the environment. This essay will discuss how this line of events has occurred, and what I believe we can do moving forward.

The leading cause of this issue stems from our carelessness and aloofness when it comes to development. Throughout the course of time, humans have developed an idea that any progress is good progress. As things stand now, this mindset has meant that we rarely double-think any consequences of our research and development on our environment. The best example is the rising use of nuclear power plants. On the one hand, large chunks of energy are produced to power our daily lives, on the other hand toxic waste is produced and discarded into the ecosystem, where it does harm the tundra and flora.

Furthermore, deforestation and the erection of cities into virgin land harbours fatal consequences for the wildlife in that area. As to facilitate our rapidly growing population, cities are being developed at an astonishing pace, which nature cannot keep up with. With their natural habitat destroyed, animals are left to die, with nowhere to go. This general reduction in population of various species is the very definition of a loss in biodiversity.

What is the solution to this issue? In my opinion, the government should inhibit mindless development, which directly harms wildlife, by forcing companies to research the full social and environmental cost of their developments, before putting their ideas into practice. Moreover, eco-friendly cities should be developed from hereon, which minimise the effect of humans on the environment. They would do so by creating space efficient living spaces, that do not require the immediate destruction of natural habitats.

In conclusion, biodiversity may decrease as a result of lack of consciousness and deforestation. I believe that the most effective solutions to tackle these issues would be government regulation and a change in infrastructure.