The influence of human beings on the world's ecosystem is leading to the extinction of species and loss of biodiversity. What are the primary causes of loss of biodiversity? What solutions can you suggest?

It is true that human effect on the environment has been largely negative, resulting in permanent loss of animal species and weakened ecosystems. This environmental phenomenon necessitates a more nuanced approach to wildlife protection, encompassing stricter hunting regulations and hazardous waste limitation for factories.

The adverse effect of humanity on ecology can be seen in various scenarios, the most detrimental of the being hunting. Although it had been the one and only way to obtain food for many prehistoric tribes and, therefore, could be justified during those periods, nowadays, hunting has become a luxurious activity to fulfill the whims and wishes of the affluent layers of the society. In addition to that, the tools for tracking and killing animals have become more advanced, resulting in unreasonably large number of animals killed and, consequently, leading to extinction of certain species. Furthermore, the industrial activity in “green areas” has been blamed for disturbing the biodiversity in the neighboring territories. For instance, waste water from factories dumped into the nearby water reservoirs, resulting in worsened living conditions for marine creatures, which, in turn, leads to lessening in their numbers, if not extinction all together.

In my opinion, to address the pressing problem of the biodiversity loss, comprehensive policy frameworks are paramount. Government should regulate the number of prey each hunter can catch, alongside a harsher treatment for weapons and other hunting equipment. It will help to bring down the number of unreasonable prey. Similarly, factories operating near the environmental hotspots should be closely monitored by the government officials. To prevent any waste treatment violations, they should be punished by law. This will force factories to avoid malpractice towards nature and be more mindful of their actions.

In conclusion, killing animals during hunts and industrial misconduct are the leading causes of animal extinction and loss of biodiversity, which can be reversed by the introduction of stricter legislation and closer government control.