the internet has led to isolation, do you agree or do not?

While the internet can have some negative impacts on reducing connectivity among people due to the overuse of social platforms and limiting outdoor activities, I believe undoubtedly that its potential benefits contribute to less isolation.

To begin with, I understand that the internet and virtual world have separated us from the real world for two reasons. Firstly, the internet can restrict our opportunities for socialization, causing isolation . For example, these technologies provide a great convenience for us by allowing us to stay at home and run our errands at our leisure without needing to browse physical stores. Another key reason for accepting this argument can be the overuse of social platforms. Unfortunately, in today’s digital era, an increasing number of community members prefer to immerse themselves in the virtual world through their smartphones instead of paying attention to their surrounding environment striking up a conversation, and attending social activities . As a result, this preference can contribute to solitude.

Despite the drawbacks mentioned above, I firmly believe that the internet has not led to isolation at all for two reasons. Firstly, it has connected us globally to each other through the instant messaging and video call services. For example, social media platforms such as Instagram and WhatsApp enable us to be informed about our friends and family who live in diverse places around the world with a sense of ease . Secondly, it offers a great opportunity for acquiring more information about different cultures and traditions. YouTube serves as a great example for this advantage, where we can find a wealth of material about all countries’ social norms, traditions, and cultures. As a result, the internet has reduced isolation. It not only allows us to keep in touch with our relatives and friends but also provides us with a great opportunity to broaden our horizons.

In conclusion, while I understand that the internet can play a role in fostering isolation, I think that it can reduce the sense of isolation by bridging people to each other.