The internet is a source of information and has opened up opportunities for people to learn all over the world. Is all information on the internet reliable? What could be done to control information online?

In this contemporary era, technology has advanced significantly in the fields of information, communication and computer science. Due to this, people have access to vast information on the Internet as well as they can gain knowledge and derive new skills from it. In this essay, I will discuss the reliability of this online information and some preventive steps to control these virtual details.

The internet has made learning anything and gaining information easy, people do not have to check the shelves of library for these. Also, people from all over the world can connect with each other easily and share their thoughts. However, only half of the information is dependable and others are not trustworthy. Moreover, the internet gives the freedom to every individual to upload any details, as a consequence some organizations mislead internet users for their benefit. For example, many dummy groups contact people on social media platforms and the internet to make donations for underprivileged children and commit fraud with them.

Furthermore, there are multiple preventing majors that could make it to make information on the internet more reliable. The first and foremost, the government should create a specific department for fact-checking of details, whether it is certain or not. Another step which can be taken to make data on the internet more dependable is that educational institutions, as well as societies, have to educate children and other members about web crime and the appropriate use of the internet.

To recapitulate the discussion, it can be said the information from online sources is not dependable and it can mislead the users. However, by the preventing measures by the government and spreading awareness among citizens can make it more trustworthy.