The internet is a source of information and has opened up opportunities for people to learn all over the world. Is all information on the internet reliable? What could be done to control information online?

The web is becoming the main source of information, and opportunities are more accessible to people in the contemporary world. The quality of information found online is extremely variable. Anyone can post data and information on the Internet, and not all online sources are equally reliable, valuable, or accurate. There should be drastic measures to ensure the reliability of data posted online for web users’ safety.

These days, in the technological era, searching for things or job opportunities are getting more popular, and anyone is able to connect globally in social and professional ways. People are very dependent on details on the net, and unfortunately, most of them believe that everything that has been posted is true. Take, for example, the news about the first lady of Ukraine’s president’s lavish lifestyle amidst the war versus Russia. The information has been circulating all over social media platforms, and a confession video of an employee of the famous jewelry store, where Ukraine’s first lady spent millions of dollars, circulated as well. Although it was proven fake, the information created a massive stir and impacted the Ukraine administration negatively. In addition, the web could be a good reference but factuality should be put into consideration.

Some drastic measures should be implemented to control online reports. For instance, there should be more strict security steps before a person can post anything on the internet, just to prove the authenticity of the information and the reliability of the source. In addition, the government should strengthen laws about cybercrimes that cover any form of social media, and imprisonment with heavy fines as punishment. For example, an individual must be banned from using any online platform if caught posting malicious content and spreading fake news about anything or anyone. Moreover, individual internet users should limit sharing things to control the spreading of negative and wrong reports.

In conclusion, information available on the Internet is not regulated for quality or accuracy; therefore, it is particularly important for individual internet users to evaluate the resource or information. Additional safety measures can strengthen the law in protecting web users from unreliable data.