‘The Internet will never replace traditional course books in schools.’ How far do you agree with this prediction?

Thanks to sophisticated technology today, access to resources for every aspect of education has widened. Internet has surged towards one of the top sources for students. However, it could never beat the conventional course books in schools.

Firstly, starting from former days, homo sapiens had been relied on writing or scratching with sharp things on surface. This tradition can be observed until this day and physical books are based on this practice, at least now it has transformed into digitally typed words hence it is inevitably challenging to get rid of. Plus, there are still avenues where even the mighty Internet have difficulties reaching out like in some part of Africa continent. In this situation, traditional course books come in place as they can be easily accessed and understood by everyone.

Additionally, these textbooks are tailored by pedagogical experts to each syllabus, therefore integrity of those books is at its maximum. Meanwhile, some sources online can be reliable nonetheless, majority of information on the internet is not cited properly. As we know, everyone who can get online is able to flaunt and write blogs so it is important for students to discriminate between sources and sift information. However, this mature skill may be hard to obtain by young aged students. Therefore, even simplest task of exploring knowledge on the internet can be such a hassle, replacing them would be a far goal.

I do believe remote learning can benefit in some way to students, nevertheless, it cannot become the mainstream of sources for primary, further, and higher education. In the future, Internet may be taken over the traditional course books, but for now, it is still a long way.