‘The Internet will never replace traditional course books in schools.’ How far do you agree with this prediction?

In the new millennium, some are in favor of the idea that traditional course books in schools are able to be completely altered by the Internet. Personally, I totally disagree with this point of view for a number of reasons, which are outlined in this essay.

There are a couple of reasons why the Internet has been playing a crucial role in modern education. One of the significant reasons is that tons of courses are provided throughout the Internet which are easy to access and most of them are free. This is due to the fact it is more convenient and easier than ever that how people are able to share their knowledge as well as their initiatives thanks to the viral of the Internet. Therefore, this huge share-knowledge is expected to replace the traditional course books in schools.

Nevertheless, the idea that school course books are irreplaceable also has a myriad of benefits. The first reason that earns my support is that there is some people who does not possess self-learning capacity. To give a clear example, children should go to schools to attend compulsory classes due to their lacking of self-esteem and other distractions that probably take them out of studying while they are using the Internet. Hence, the Internet could not be an entire alternative for school books. Another factor worth mentioning is that it is difficult to validate the knowledge that is learned from open sources in the Internet by ourselves. This is because of the fact that the Internet allows any one to access and modify. As a result, without careful validation from trusted sources or masters of the searched fields, the sole-rely on the Internet could make a harm to our conscious awareness and knowledge.

To sum up, there is no denying that both options are well-grounded. In my opinion, both internet sources and traditional books could be considered the contemporary sources and leveraged during learning process.