‘The Internet will never replace traditional course books in schools.’ How far do you agree with this prediction?

Although the feasible substitution of the internet with conventional school books is deemed to be impossible, I disagree totally owing to the large number of benefits the World Wide Web has been streaming to humans’ lives and to the environment as well.

First and foremost contributing factor lies on the environmentally-friendly nature of the Internet. Compared with paper-based publications, E-books require way less logging. Moreover, the books shared online contribute to a substantial fall in the amount of carbon dioxide emissions as they eliminate the two most polluting stages involved in the manufacture of books, which are processing wood into the sheets of paper and then distributing them. Thus, the education is increasingly relying on the internet. Moreover, owing to the large array of convenience that the virtual world offers regarding studies, conventional school books are deemed to be relegated. The advantages include accessibility, mobility, and limitlessness. In fact, whereas carrying many handwritten books is demanding, the internet offers access to unlimited numbers of files simultaneously. Another major privilege which prioritizes the Web by stark contrast is its state of being cost-friendly. Since school students are not old enough to enjoy the income of employment, regular expenditure on books might be regrettable to them. Nevertheless, the online publications are often free to download. Therefore, majority of teenage learners have a propensity to use the Internet at no expense rather than being a source of income for bookshops.

On the other hand, it is true that the Internet exposes pupils to a number of disadvantageous conditions such as distraction from studies, eye strain, and addiction. However, I am of the opinion that these shortcomings can be swiftly negated so long as efficient parental care is assured.

Overall, I believe that the Internet will definitely seize the power from traditional books in schools despite some downsides.