‘The Internet will never replace traditional course books in schools.’ How far do you agree with this prediction?

Today, the internet has become an indispensable part of people’s lives. Subsequently, schools are on the verge of shifting their way of teaching by accessing materials online. I partially agree with that statement since there will always be a place for traditional books; however, online materials have a profound effect on choosing the method of studying as well.

On the one hand, with the advancement in technology, obtaining materials online has become much easier. People have an opportunity to browse the internet and acquire their desired knowledge without going to any bookshops or libraries, reducing the rate of offline book usage. Moreover, in the past, more and more people queued up in line to access only one book; however, today individuals might easily download PDFs of books within a second. Additionally, purchasing online books may be cheaper than buying from bookstores, which leads many to utilize texts from the web. For instance, there are a plethora of websites that pave the way for people to log in and purchase books like Amazon, eBay, and AliExpress.

On the other hand, classic books might never be replaced by websites, since reading information from real books is healthier for the eyes compared to those online. People sometimes spend 6 or 7 hours online just to read a few contents, leading to the deterioration of their eyes. However, if it had not been for online content, there would not be any health concerns such as cancer or brain injury. For example, according to health scientists, 15% of people using the web for reading purposes have been detected with some unique illnesses that are hardly possible to cure.

In conclusion, while it seems convenient to look for any information online, it would never entirely replace reading physical books. Despite the fact that the internet plays a pivotal role in teaching, especially in schools.