The key to solving environmental problems is for the present generation to sacrifice their convenient lifestyle for the sake of the future generation. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is factual that the state of our global environment is deteriorating rapidly, as polluting materials, products, and industrial practices rampage on. While efforts at addressing the environmental crisis are by all means justified, the suggested sacrificing of our contemporary lifestyles’ comfort for the sake of posterity remains a contentious debate. Subjectively, I lean more towards the opposition against this relatively ostentatious and detrimental act.

On the one hand, the notion that sacking our materialist lifestyle is environmentally beneficial is agreeable in the short term. The practice of phasing out such non-eco-friendly products as fast-fashion or one-use utensils can foreseeably reduce our net waste immediately. Furthermore, the mere mindset behind actively sacrificing your comfort for the well-being of our environment is also indubitably beneficial, in that it induces more extensive actions and acts as educational support in the long run. However, the waste reduction is provenly minor in comparison to other sources of pollution, while the mentioned positive mindset can also easily be misled into the false complacency of having done more than what they actually contributed. These factors greatly undermine our ability to make truly meaningful sacrifices.

On the other hand, making lifestyle sacrifices is susceptible to deceitful marketing by profit-driven racketeers. Additionally to the potentially small contributions these sacrifices constitute, they can, in worse cases, work to the very detriment of our environment after the marketing of corporations. Such reasoning can be applied to instances such as the promotion of paper-based one-use utensils, whose production also generally requires a preponderance of harmful chemicals and energy-intensive processes. This morally questionable practice is frequently motivated by exclusively short-term profit figures, which inherently constitutes ‘greenwashing’. It is under this corporate deception scheme that consumers are distracted from the more intrinsic cause of environmental degradation – large-scale and systematic pollution from capitalist companies. Moreover, this also gives way to a destructive sense of complacency with which consumers can fail to meaningfully combat global pollution.

To recapitulate, despite remarkable short-term benefits such as waste reduction and spirit instillation, these minor accomplishments of the self-sacrificial environmental movement pale in comparison to the far and wide risk of greenwashing and the resulting distraction by complacency.