The main purpose of advertising is to increase the sales of products that people don't really need. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Many people believe that the main purpose of advertising is to raise the sales of goods that consumers don’t actually demand. I completely agree with this viewpoint because ads can stimulate buyers and then create a need.

From my viewpoint, advertising can tempt people to buy products that they might not want. If products are advertised all about how much benefit they can bring to experiencers, these marketing ways can increase the desire from people. For example, many people are buying new phone for good beneficial but their phones already as well as the new one.

Another reason is that advertising also create a need. Although people can live with fewer products, advertising will promote the desire for wanting more products to have a life of comfort and convenience. This impact on people’s psychology and leading to the rise in sales of items. For instance, clothes which wear by popular people will having more attention by customer, they will search and find the same brand’s clothes then buying that. By this psychology, brands are paying for celebs to wearing their clothes then brands will increase purchase volume.

In conclusion, I strongly agree with the point that advertising can increase the non-essential products volume.