The main purpose of advertising is to increase the sales of products that people don't really need. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Many people believe that the main purpose of advertising is to raise the sales of goods that consumers don’t actually demand. I completely agree with this viewpoint because ads can stimulate buyers and then create a need.

From my viewpoint, advertising can tempt people to buy products that they might not want. If products are advertised emphasizing how much benefit they can bring to users, these marketing methods can increase the desire from people. For example, many people are buying new phones for their beneficial but their phones function just as well as the new ones.

Another reason is that advertising also creates a need. Although people can live with fewer products, advertising will promote the desire for wanting more products to have a life of comfort and convenience. This impacts people’s psychology,leading to the rise in sales of items. For instance, clothes which worn by popular people will have more attention from customers, they will search and find the same brand’s clothes then buying those. By this psychology, brands are paying for celebs to wearing their clothes then brands will increase purchase volume.

In conclusion, I strongly agree with the point that advertising can increase the sales of non-essential products.