The main purpose of advertising is to increase the sales of products that people don't really need. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In recent years, advertisements have become part of our dailylife and people have diferent views about them. Some people think that motivating people to purchase items that they do not have need is the main aim of advertisements. I disagree to some extent with this statement.

On the one hand, there are several drawbacks of advertising things to people. Firstly, many people live in different lifestyles and have various needs. In public spaces and associations they can see advertisement of items which are manufactured by companies that usually aim to pursuade people to purchase their items, even they do not need. Secondly, advertisements can create false beliefs among citizens and this can lead to young generations demanding their parents to buy these things which actually have less importance in life.

However, I believe that advertisements which are displayed in televisions and public spaces have several benefits. Displaying products for citizens can raise awareness of people about things which would be usefull in now or later life. This can be so useful for people who can not find whether this thing is beneficial for health or other purposes. Furthermore, they provide more opportunities for purchasing one thing in several differents and choices we have.

In conclusion, there may be some drawbacks of advertising, but I believe it can provide more important informations and many choices that we have.