The majority of news being reported is bad news such as wars, famines, accidents and crime. Why do you think that is? Do you think the news should be a balance of both good and bad news?

The news is the best way to show what is happening in the world. People see what goes on nowadays, changes in the law, coming events, wars, crime, and so on through the news. Some people complain if the news contains more bad news. In my opinion, this is not negotiable problem because the news focus on the most important things to tell. Thus, the news does not need to balance both good and bad news, but shows the most important news that people should be informed.

Some people are tired of bad news, such as wars, famines, accidents, and crime, because they worry if the bad news affects their mental health and has a bad effect on their kids, who are not mentally mature and exposed to stimulating things easily. In fact, there are researches showing that bad news affects people, for example, copycat crime or confusion. Nobody wants their kids to be exposed to the bad, cruel, and negative things.

But we need to see the essence of news. What is the news? The news is to tell people what happened recently. The broadcasters choose which topic to show within the various topics and countless news, regardless of bad or good. They decide the priority of news and broadcast the news in the order of priority. This means the importance, not if it is good or bad. If bad things happen more, then there will be more bad news. In contrast, if good things happen more, then there will be more good news. The news should not consider a balance of both good and bad news. The news should focus on the importance of happenings.

In conclusion, I think the news should not be a balance of both good and bad news because the news is to tell people what is going on in the world, although the bad news might affect negatively for some people.