The majority of news being reported is bad news such as wars, famines, accidents and crime. Why do you think that is? Do you think the news should be a balance of both good and bad news?

Nowadays, most of the news charts are written about alarming news that is stressful for people, because journalists focus on reports about criminal activities, news from the war press and others. I reckon that journalists should do publications about both troubling news and good news.

To begin with, in the last decades, the number of armed clashes between countries and their border lines has increased. The number of criminal activities among adults and juveniles also increased. People started to romanticize criminals and wars in the world. For example, news often focusses on battlefield victories and military leaders. Closing their eyes on the consequences of war and losses, news changes the opinions of people about war. As a result, propaganda closes the eyes of people and journalists focusing on people at war.

Most of the news sites, newspapers, and TV news programs speak and write mostly about alarming news. However, I consider that journalists of news should focus on providing information about both good and bad news, not to concentrate mostly on troubling news. For instance, while it is important to know about global conflicts, economic downturns, and crime activities, it is also important that journalists should also highlight things such as peace agreements, technological innovations, and other good news. Therefore, by introducing both good and alarming news, journalists’ reports will have a good impact on people.

In conclusion, while alarming news is important, journalists should also cover positive events like peace agreements and scientific achievements. This would provide more balanced news to reduce stress for people.