The majority of news being reported is bad news such as wars, famines, accidents and crime. Why do you think that is? Do you think the news should be a balance of both good and bad news?

In this contemporary day and age, many people argue that the mass media often predominantly reports on bad news focusing on wars, famines, accidents and crime rates. This phenomenon can be attributed to a number of reasons and I firmly agree with the statement that the news should be a balance of positive and negative news.

There are two main reasons associated with the prevalence of bad news. First of all, reporting on negative updates can immediately grab viewers’ attention and help individuals become aware of some adverse consequences that may affect their lives. This can be seen in the case of Hurricane Katrina in 2005, the mass media rapidly informed the Americans about its devastating damage. Therefore, reporting on bad news not only assists people to understand the severity of the disaster but also calls for aid and funding from around the world. Another noteworthy reason is that media outlets often capitalize on this by globalizing negative news which can foster their advertising revenue and gain more readership. As a result, journalism can maintain social activity, enhance the quality of their news and also create conditions to contribute to the governmental economy.

Personally, I believe that informing about both negative and positive news is deemed to be considerably beneficial. To be specific, bad updates provide individuals with a realistic view of each circumstance as it may help them to face many urgent problems and take timely action. In addition, prioritizing positive news creates a sense of optimism and resilience that facilitates an environment for people to stay away from pressure and feelings of fear. Hence, reporting bad news balancing between negative and positive views suggests a more holistic and comprehensive perspective of global events. It also enhances the credibility of media organizations by demonstrating their commitment to object information and transparency.

In conclusion, while there are several reasons for the ubiquitous appearance of many bad news related to violence issues or controversial phenomena, I am of the opinion that journalism should provide a balanced approach that includes both good and bad sides.