The majority of news being reported is bad news such as wars, famines, accidents and crime. Why do you think that is? Do you think the news should be a balance of both good and bad news?

Nowadays, its quiet common to hear bad news circulating around, either about conflicts between two countries or about increasing crime rate. No doubt illegal activities have been increased and there are certainly more wars happening in the world but as the same time good things like increased humanitarian aid and achievements in scientific field to control crime rates is also worth highlighting.

The main reason for distressful news being more widespread is the misuse of social media platforms. Back in the days when there was only limited sources, it was pretty rare to get any disturbing news such as murder or robbery. However, in today’s world due to extensive socialization any information spreads like fire, because negativity tends to be more contagious. For instance, the war that is happening between Gazza and Israel is in the headlines, but nobody focuses on the positive side that is, the increased trend of providing humanitarian aids to the victims of this conflict.

Secondly, there is no check and balance in this department. There are thousands of sources of news but not even one that we can say is 100% authentic. I believe that government should invest more in journalism and make a proper criteria to authenticate and verify every big news before it’s aired.

In my opinion, our daily feeds, be it newspapers or facebook, should be a mixture of both positive and negative information. If people hear good news often it would help them to maintain a positive outlook on life. For instance, if we hear more about people’s achievements in their careers, it alsoencourage us to do better in ours.

To conclude, there should always be good news along with the bad one to maintain a healthy and a balanced mindset. After all, this world needs its daily dose of happy stories.