The media should limit how much bad news they report because it discourages people from doing activities that actually involve very little risk. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In the present, there has been discussion over restricting negative news from the media due to its discouragement of people from activities which include safe feelings. From my perspective, I partly agree with these views.

On the one hand, some people believe that they are obsessed by bad news, leading them to diminish experience with safe activities. The media often informs about sport accidents or injuries which make people exaggerate the likelihood of accidents in daily sport situations. For instance, my brother wants to become the best football player but his mother doesn’t like his participation in football matches because of the danger that she’s seen on the news so he can not follow his dream. In addition, it is terrible that reporting accident news can distort people’s perception of risk, allowing them to make assumptions about the potential risks of certain actions without considering other aspects. For example, my grandparent refuses to fly on all his business trips due to unsafe feelings that are caused by annual plane crashes in the media.

On the other hand, there is some contrasting evidence of bad news’s strawback, when people suppose that the media takes responsibility for conveying both sides of the information. To begin with, most traffic accidents are often caused by reckless driving, which can warn the attitude’s people taking part in transportation. As a result, bad news would enhance self-awareness during daily activities and avoid repeating risks by learning from situations reported in the news. Furthermore, it would enable us to take appropriate actions against some bad behaviors reflected on TV. For example, media reports reveal the ways of criminality such as breaking into a vehicle lock so people can prepare an anti-theft lock.

In conclusion, the duty of the media is to report a variety of situations and it cannot completely affect our behaviors. Therefore, people should take account of warnings from the media and balance it to ignore its obsession.