The modern megacity has many problems. What are the main problems facing large cities today? What should be done to alleviate these problems?

Nowadays, modern cities are causing some essential issues. In this essay, I will examine two of the problems and suggest possible solutions.

One of the major issues in large cities is overpopulation. High incomes and superior life quality attract a substantial proportion of international migrants. For instance, in the United States, a variety of people who come from Asia choose there to inhabit due to the fact they are pursuing not only a more fitting job but also gaining more profit. As for parents, they usually decide to raise their children in a mega-city, which provides a high-level educational environment compared to a small town. In addition, there is the creation of air pollution. A significant number of people suffer from respiratory diseases, such as lung cancer. According to a recent Taiwanese government survey, Taiwan had the second highest occurrence of lung cancer in Asia in 2019, where half of lung cancer patients did not have a smoking history. Furthermore, scientists have concluded that the population concentrated in areas that have toxic gas from factories and transportation are the ones who tend to get the

disease. However, there are also several solutions to these problems. Remarkably, the most effective solution to less overcrowded is to develop suburbs. Governments might encourage citizens to live in other suburbs by improving amenities and transportation. The lower house prices and completed infrastructures could interest the younger generation in owning their first house in such areas. Moreover, one way of solving air pollution is by legislation prohibiting most transportation from using fossil fuels for energy. Building bicycle-friendly roadways to replace motorcycle usage also might be a helpful way.

In conclusion, while there are at least two main problems caused by quickening urban development throughout the world, there are several solutions. If these solutions implement, the problem may diminish in the future.