The most common solution for criminal behaviour is prison but many believe education is a better method. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

The vast majority of people think that education is more effective solution for criminal behavior than keeping people in prison. In believe, that inmates should be preserved in jails for a number of reasons, rather than being sent to re-educational schools.

Keeping inmates in prisons will definitely prevent from committing crime in prison territory. The most of the guards there are quite strict, which leads to solid discipline among inmates, as a result, prisoners will behave themselves, else they would be punished. Additionally, crime level in cities will probably drop, because of the large number of inmates located in prisons. However, prisoners are highly likely to re-educate in prisons than in educational centers. In jails prisoners are free from external factors and responsibilities like job, paying taxes, being responsible for someone and so on, which means they have more time for rethinking their lives and new perspectives such as new hobbies or sport.

On the other hand, re-education practices could be useful but only for inmates that are morally unstable. Because those who commit crimes consciously will probably try to do it again but with more cautious approach, despite these prisoners got re–education session. In my case, I have never seen or heard about re-education courses for prisoners, which means these courses are not so much likely because of its useless.

In conclusion, prison is the best option for rehabilitation purposes of prisoners, because of its opportunity to rethink their lives and extent their obstacles by trying something new, while re-education sessions are useful only for morally unstable inmates.