The most common solution for criminal behaviour is prison but many believe education is a better method. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Many people feel that instead of locking up criminals, we could better reduce crime by tackling systematic problems in our educational systems. Although educating lawbreakers could potentially help them to form positive behaviour, I firmly believe that they should be placed in prisons and isolated from society. This essay will discuss both sides in detail.

On the one hand, some people see education as a better remedy as it holds long-term promise. The main cause of crime is poverty and that can be linked directly to education. Indeed, the lack of educated people might cause illiteracy, unemployment, and bad quality of life in society. Take for example the most educated countries in the world. In Sweden, which has one of the most well-regarded school systems in the world, graduates can find and apply for well-paid jobs and the crime rate is consequently among the lowest globally. Thus, there is no reason for committing a crime if you have a decent salary and education.

On the other hand, relying solely on education cannot change one’s behaviour. Some prisoners have been brought up in terrible conditions and their psyche could be damaged for the rest of their lives. Seeking knowledge and education might not help criminals due to the impossibility of changing their world outlook, which increases the risk of continuous criminal activities after being released into the world. In some countries, like Columbia, there are the strickest and harsh prisons, where lawbreakers, involved in drug dealing and murders, face life-long penalties for their past. Furthermore, everyone should be treated equally for their deeds and be responsible for their crimes in such prisons.

To conclude, while giving education and knowledge to criminals might have a positive effect to some extent, I strongly believe that prison is the best way to isolate lawbreakers from society and teach the importance of being responsible for criminal actions.