The most effective way to solve the current traffic and pollution problems in cities is to encourage people to move from the suburbs or countryside into the city centre. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Some people opine that the solution to the current traffic and pollution problems in cities can be reduce by allocating people from suburbs to urban areas. I do not agree with this notion. As city centers are already over populated, it is not a good idea to shift the people from countryside to the main cities. Thinking for my reasons are articulated below.

To begin with, there is no doubt that the traffic congestion and pollution has been on a rise since sometime and the main reason is more and more people are travelling to the urban areas because of work and study. One way to reduce the traffic and pollution is moving these people to the main cities. government should build more houses and towns to accommodate everyone. However, big cities are struggling for space and there has been housing crises recently, hence accommodating so many people will not be practical enough.

On the contrary, as there are more job opportunities in the urban setting, therefore the government must introduce new companies, this will create more job vacancies for people living in that vicinity. Moreover a good education system and an efficient healthcare should also be installed in the rural areas. Consequently, people will stop travelling to the city centers as a result it will reduce the traffic congestion and pollution in the urban areas.

To recapitulate, as big cities are already suffering from housing crises , shifting the people from rural area will not solve the problem but may increase it. Hence creating more job opportunities near to their home and providing efficient education system and healthcare might solve this problem.