The most important factor in job satisfaction is salary. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

For many people around the world a job cannot be satisfying unless they are earning a high salary. There are others, however, who believe that to be happy in life, we should live our life with a sense of purpose, finding jobs that we feel passionate about while working in a happy environment. I strongly believe that these factors lead to a much stronger sense of fulfilment in our work and our lives in general.

People who feel passionate about their work, tend to report higher feelings of job satisfaction and commonly experience higher levels of motivation and energy.Furthermore, when a job involves helping others, such as that of a doctor, lawyer or teacher, a strong sense of purpose in life can be achieved, leading to an overall sense of well being. The stronger the passion we have for our job,the higher the level of satisfaction experienced.

Another contributory factor to overall job satisfaction, is to work in a positive and friendly environment. This is not always easy to control but it is worth trying to contribute to finding ways to make this happen. People who work in offices with demanding or selfish managers and uncooperative colleagues tend to report much higher levels of stress and dissatisfaction in their jobs than those who work in happier atmospheres with supportive colleagues.Hence, it is always worth trying to cultivate a great working atmosphere.Despite the apparent benefits of the above points, there remain a large number of individuals who believe that earning a good salary is the most important factor for job satisfaction. Many people prioritise financial security while also appreciating things like foreign travel, a good quality education for their children and the ability to purchase luxury items. The feelings of contentment arising from this, amounts to job satisfaction for a large number of people and it helps them to tolerate a less thanperfect work environment.

In conclusion, although it is paramount for many people to have a well-paid job in order to feel satisfied at work, there are many others for whom this is not the case.In my opinion, feeling passionate about your job and working in a positive and a supportive environment, leads to stronger feelings of job satisfaction and a happier life in general.