The natural resources such as oil, forests and freshwater are being consumed at an alarming rate. What problems does this cause? How can we solve these problems?

These days, natural resources such as oil, forests and fresh water are being used up at an unprecedented rate. I will discuss the problems that stem from this phenomenon as well as propose solutions to mitigate its effects.

Many factors contribute to the depletion of natural resources. One cause is that industries and businesses consume huge amounts of them. Many companies extract vast amounts of these raw materials and turn them into products to sell to consumers. A supporting example is that oil-refining companies extract large quantities of crude oil. They process it into fuel such as gasoline or diesel and sell it to gas stations. Another reason is that society is using up natural resources faster and faster. There is increasing demand for them because the population is constantly growing and people tend to consume more in the age of consumerism. For instance, there is growing demand for fresh water. As there are more people, there is more need for cleanliness and sanitation. Thus, fresh water is used up faster for everyday purposes, such as cooking, washing, cleaning and drinking.

Several measures can be taken to address the issue. One such measure is that businesses and industries should switch to more sustainable alternatives. By replacing natural resources with better substitutes, industries can reduce their reliance on them. Thus, it slows down the depletion process. An example of this is that logging companies, instead of cutting down more trees to make paper and cardboard, should recycle old and discarded paper. This allows them to reuse old materials while lessening their dependence on wood. Another measure is that residents should limit their water consumption. One way they can do this is to keep track of the water they use by regularly checking their water meter. This encourages them to either use less or save water for secondary use. In Japan, many bathrooms are designed in such a way that the sink is directly connected to the toilet. In that way, water from the sink can flow into the toilet and be reused.

Ultimately, several causes contribute to this problem such as the consumption of natural resources by businesses and industries and increasing societal demand. However, steps can be taken to mitigate its effects such as switching to more sustainable alternatives and limiting water consumption.